How Important Is It To Say Thankyou?

As we rush through our lives, it’s easy to miss those small acts of kindness that actually really make a difference. It may be someone holding open the door for you, someone standing up to let someone more in need sit down on public transport or just a simple smile as you pass by a stranger which cheers up our day…

And then there are those bigger acts of kindness that show our humanity:

  • Recognising that someone needs a bit of help with some work they are doing
  • Supporting a friend or colleague when they have family problems
  •  Helping out an elderly relative or neighbour…
  • etc.etc.etc. – the list is endless!

We often do things for others never expecting to receive thanks and certainly not ‘pay back’ and I believe that’s the right way to give.. with no expectation in return. However, when someone does take a moment to stop and say ‘Thank you’ what a beautifully rewarding feeling that gives. Two simple words that can make such a difference when they are spoken genuinely and with true gratitude…

Have you ever held a door open for someone who proceeds to walk through it without acknowledgement… How did it make you feel?

Well in the last 24 hours, I’ve received the following cards and flowers from 4 different people:

Friendship.png

  • From an elderly neighbour – a lovely thank you card and a bottle of wine for a little bit of help given recently..
  • From my nieces and nephews – a card they made to say thanks for my support when they were going through some tougher times…
  • A beautiful bouquet of flowers from a customer who had heard I’m currently off work, to thank me for my help some time ago…
  • A card from a friend who needed some support recently..

I can honestly say I’m blessed… those lovely gestures and cards have made such a big difference to my day and so whilst I still believe we should ‘give’ without expecting something in return, I’m also going to be much more generous with my ‘Thank you’s’ in future as I also realise what a lovely feeling this gives back to the recipient, who was someone who showed their humanity and gave a little helping hand…

heart-of-a-friend

 

 

33 thoughts on “How Important Is It To Say Thankyou?

Add yours

  1. I’m afraid if I step aside or open a door for a stranger and they just walk past without acknowledging I am bound to say loudly ‘Thank you’ myself. It makes me feel better and is clearly a sign that there is a dark underbelly to my smiling persona 😉. But seriously, you are so so right – thank you is so important – it preserves decency and generosity of spirit at some level and without both of those things human kind becomes unkind xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh yep – definitely been there with the ‘door opening’.. as much as I say I don’t expect a ‘thank you’ – I DO for doors!! haha… You’re right – absolutely and I love that ‘human kind becomes unkind’… so true! And of course ‘ Thank you’ for taking the time to read and comment as I do love to hear what other people think so this is a genuine appreciation! ..xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you are a sweetie Mr PPP – what a lovely comment! And now the good karma will spread across the water as a ripple to your shore too.. for putting a smile on my face as always! Thank YOU very much Mr P! xxx

      Like

  2. Sometimes we do forget to say thank you because we become so focused on ourselves that we forget the people that have a part in some aspect of our daily lives. Saying ” thank you” becomes easier when we think more about others and less about ourselves. There needs to be a balance in how we view ourselves and others. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true.. We are often ‘rushing’ through life that we focus on what we are doing ourselves rather than others around us.. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment.. Very much appreciated (and not just cos I’ve written about thanking people.. really it means a lot when people stop by and comment!) xx

      Like

    1. We were too… and you’re right I’m so pleased and then hubby came home from work tonight with a £20 voucher from work as 3 customers had rung in to praise him.. We’re on a roll!! hehe.. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you! Two such simple words that have such a huge impact in our lives. I’ve always taught my kids from a young age hoe important it is to acknowledge kindness and use manners. Basic rites in our world today. Lovely post. Hope you’re having a great week my friend. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to say that my 2 lovely granddaughters are being taught some lovely manners too.. it’s so important to keep it going and instill good manners from a young age… I’m having a great week and hope you are too Miriam? Jen’s doing well with her recovery so all good so far.. xx

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks so much Miriam… Yes we’re starting to breathe again.. she’s a way to go yet and a trip back to the surgeon this afternoon so fingers xx for that today! I have to smile – after the smiling Jen has managed throughout this pretty momentous time in her life, I have to be inspired! x

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑